2nd Chance Havana – Oh my God! I finally found some contemporary art in Vedado

DSC01131, originally uploaded by cubamxc.

Things were looking up when we walked through Salvador Gonzalez Escalona’s open-air project. Not typically my thing, but I do like when these types of community projects are all consuming and the wackier the beater. The next few locations were more or less a repeat of the last contemporary art expedition.

We walked along the Malecon to reach Casa de la. Yay! This organisation focuses on the promotion of Latin American creativity, from visual arts exhibitions to literary conventions. This included the exquisite linework of Pedro Villalba Ospina’s (Colombian) exhibition Cien anos de soledad al aguafuerte, en ocasion del XXVII Festival International del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano, based on text by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. After viewing Ospina in Galeria Latinoamericana we were fortunate to have received a comprehensive tour of the collection, IN SPANISH of course, which for the most part was simply beyond our collective abilities but very friendly!

Next stop Galeria Habana. We entered via the back entrance, through a stock room to – Yay, a large contemporary exhibition space. Yay! Kcho’s Los Animales presented a series of large scale modified boats, or winged creatures, placed on the ground and suspended, with two vitrines predominately featuring working drawings. I must say, I always like boats in a gallery.

However, is it just me or is there a slight fixation on flight and diversion (which I can completely appreciate): the Cuban passion for cinema; Rene Francisco Rodriguez’s exhibition at Nina Menocal in Mexico, in part eluded to unattainable travel; and I don’t think I’ve mentioned the bag search before entering the ferry stop for Casablanca and our plan to hijack the ferry to Miami obstructed?

Anyway, I’m just happy that the last gallery we went to had some real contemporary art. I’m not going to push my luck any further and have resolved not to aggravate our last day looking for anymore.

Leave a Reply

